Haverstraw Establishes ‘No Knock Registry’

Real Estate In-Depth | April 5, 2017

HAVERSTRAW—The Town of Haverstraw has joined a growing number of Rockland County municipalities to enact a “No-Knock” registry.

The Haverstraw Town Board recently approved an amendment to its peddling and solicitor law and established a no-knock registry, according to a report in the Journal News. Town Supervisor Howard Philips told the newspaper that the amendment was aimed at curtailing “extreme, aggressive sales tactics” of a few real estate salespeople.

Residents can now sign up for the no knock registry at the Town Clerk’s office that will make their homes off limits to door-to-door solicitors, including real estate salespeople. Fines imposed for violators run from a $500 to $1,500 fine for the first offense and a $1,500 to $3,500 fine for a second offense within 24 months. Penalties for a third offense within 24 months runs from a $3,500 to $10,000 fine, along with a possible 30-day jail sentence.

The peddling and solicitor law requires door-to-door solicitors to purchase licenses. The amendment expands on the no-knock signs to include small decals, which the town plans to offer residents who participate in the registry. Other communities that have no-knock laws in place include Clarkstown, Orangetown and the Village of Airmont, while Stony Point is considering amending its existing peddling and solicitation law, according to the Journal News report.

The New York State Department of State held a hearing last September at Rockland Community College to consider the need for the possible adoption of a cease and desist zone in Rockland County. The Department of State has not to date announced any further actions or hearings in the matter.