National Association of Realtors Installs 2020 Leadership

Real Estate In-Depth | November 18, 2019

2020 NAR President Vince Malta

SAN FRANCISCO—Vince Malta, a third-generation Realtor, was installed on Nov. 11 as the 2020 president of the National Association of Realtors during the 2019 Realtors Conference & Expo here.

Malta was NAR’s 2019 president-elect and 2018 first vice president. He has been in the industry for 40 years and is a broker at Malta & Co., Inc., in San Francisco. On the national level, he has testified before Congress multiple times on behalf of NAR, served on its Board of Directors since 2002 and was the association’s 2011 vice president of government affairs. In 2002, Malta became a California Association of Realtors® honorary member for life, in 2006 he served as CAR president, and in 2007 he was named the state’s Realtor® of the Year.

Charlie Oppler is the 2020 NAR president-elect. He has been a Realtor for more than 30 years and is the CEO of Prominent Properties Sotheby’s International Realty in Tenafly, NJ, specializing in residential brokerage. He holds the At Home with Diversity certification from NAR and has served on NAR’s Board of Directors since 2003. He has served on four of NAR’s Presidential Advisory Groups while chairing the Realtor Party Coordinating Committee twice and the RPAC Trustees Committee for one term. In 2005, Oppler was NAR’s vice president for Region 2, representing New Jersey, New York and Pennsylvania. He was president of the New Jersey Association of Realtors in 2004.

Leslie Rouda Smith is NAR’s first vice president. She has been a Realtor for nearly 35 years. Rouda Smith is a broker associate at Dave Perry-Miller & Associates, in Dallas, where she specializes in residential and ranch and country real estate, along with her husband Brian and their children, all of whom are Realtors.

John Flor is NAR’s 2020 treasurer. Flor has been a Realtor for more than 20 years and is the Managing Broker of Six Lakes Realty, specializing in waterfront and recreational properties. At the national level, Flor has served on several committees, a presidential advisory group and the NAR Board of Directors. The Wisconsin Realtors Association elected Flor as its board chairman in 2010, after serving as the Realtors Association of Northwest Wisconsin, elected him president in 2009.

Mabél Guzmán is NAR’s 2020 vice president, association affairs. Guzmán is a broker at @properties in Chicago, where she specializes in residential real estate, rehabbing properties and working with investors.

Christine Hansen is NAR’s 2020 vice president, advocacy. She has been a Realtor for more than 20 years and broker-owner of Century 21 Hansen Realty in Fort Lauderdale, FL, a full-service real estate company with residential, luxury homes, rental and relocation department.

John Smaby is NAR’s 2020 immediate past president. He’s a second-generation Realtor from Edina, MN. He has been in the industry for nearly 40 years and is a broker at Edina Realty, where he specializes in residential real estate.

Drew Fishman, a Realtor based in Abescon, NJ is the NAR’s 2020 Regional Vice President for Region 2: New Jersey, New York and Pennsylvania.